The Steering Committee

Washington and Lee’s Mock Convention is a nationally recognized and respected organization. Meet the students who are working to keep it that way.

 Not pictured: Coleman Martinson, Emily Hershgordon, Gigi Lancaster, and Kyle Perel.

Not pictured: Coleman Martinson, Emily Hershgordon, Gigi Lancaster, and Kyle Perel.

General Department

The General department oversees the organization's leadership and is responsible for upholding and furthering the mission of Mock Convention: to inspire enthusiastic engagement and active participation in the electoral process in both the Washington and Lee Univeristy community and the public.

Jimmy.JPG

GENERAL CHAIR

Jimmy Fleck
St. Charles, IL

fleckj20@wlu.edu

Layne.JPG

GENERAL SECRETARY

Layne Smith
Somers, NY

smithlk20@mail.wlu.edu

Victoria.JPG

SPEAKERS CHAIR

Victoria Morgan
Atlanta, GA

morganv20@wlu.edu


Financial Department

The Financial department manages the organization's fundraising efforts and budgeting strategies. As Mock Con is not directly funded by Washington and Lee University, our fundraising efforts are a crucial aspect of a successful and enjoyable convention.

ET.JPG

FINANCIAL CHAIR

Elizabeth Thompson
Arlington, TX

thompsone20@wlu.edu

Parker.JPG

FUNDRAISING CHAIR

Parker Catlett
Jefferson City, TN

catlettp20@wlu.edu

Kaitlyn.JPG

FINANCIAL CONTROLLER

Kaitlyn Brock
Greensboro, NC

brockk20@wlu.edu


Political Department

At the center of Mock Convention is the political research project. It is no small task to predict the distribution of more than 2,000 delegates to the Democratic National Convention. In addition, the Political department is responsible for monitoring social media and news outlets to understand the opinion of the people.

John.JPG

POLITICAL CHAIR

John Harashinski
Barnegat, NJ

harashinskij20@wlu.edu

Liam.JPG

Metadata manager

Liam McCann
Asheville, NC

mccannl20@wlu.edu

Luke.JPG

Democratic Party Analysts

Luke Basham
Wise, VA

bashamc20@wlu.edu

Kyle.jpg

National Political Analyst

Kyle Perel
Gaithersburg, MD

perelk20@wlu.edu

Micah.JPG

Democratic Party Analysts

Micah Holcomb
London, KY

holcombm21@wlu.edu


Operations Department

The Operations department is in charge of the non-political aspects of the Mock Convention student experience. Operations creates a professional environment that rivals the quality of a true national convention. The department is also the chief memory-maker, responsible for exciting experiences and memorabilia.

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Kylie Piotte
North Andover, MA

piottek21@wlu.edu

IMG_0500.JPG

Memorabilia and sales chair

Coleman Martinson
Huntsville, AL

martinsonh21@wlu.edu

logistics chair

Donald LeCompte
East Stroudsburg, PA

lecompted21@wlu.edu

events chair

Katie Daly
Savannah, GA

dalyk21@wlu.edu


Communications Department

The Communications department is in charge of promoting the organization on all levels: in the Washington and Lee University community, and to the general public. Communications manages the organization's advertisements, publications, social media, online presence, and greater technological needs.

Annie.JPG

DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS

Annie Lentz
Easton, MD

lentza20@wlu.edu

Lancaster_Gigi_20.jpg

social media director

Gigi Lancaster
Dallas, TX

lancasterg20@wlu.edu

Killian.jpg

marketing chair

Killian Green
Dallas, TX

greenk21@wlu.edu

pastedImage.png.jpeg

press secretary

Emily Hershgordon
Maple Glen, PA

hershgordone20@wlu.edu